Monica S. Flores
4 min readNov 5, 2018

--

My 2018 Reading Challenge

https://www.goodreads.com/user_challenges/11224732

It’s been a fun year so far in terms of reading.

I’ve been implementing more of a focus on what I enjoy, rather than some hard deadlines I would give myself for prior challenges (i.e. 100 books in the challenge two years ago — it seemed like a good idea at the time, but in hindsight, this was too much for me).

Starting on the plane on the way back from a family trip to London in January, with “Nod” by Adrian Barnes (RIP), and recently finishing up in early November with a graphic novelization of “Game of Thrones,” I’ve had time to enjoy and do a lot more deeper diving into both fiction and non-fiction.

I so appreciate our local Friends of the Library, which has a huge secondhand book sale in the spring and the fall, at which I’ve purchased at least two large paper grocery bags of paperbacks! Support your local library!

What are you reading? Connect with me on GoodReads as “monicadear” https://www.goodreads.com/monicadear

Here’s my list so far:

(880 pages yo!)

(heartrending graphic novel by Jennifer Hayden about breast cancer)

(fun)

(alert: big weeper)

👀

I’ll read anything by Tracy Chevalier or Jodi Picoult.

To be honest I hadn’t known anything about this besides various Twitter buzz, so I was indeed fascinated by this set of stories.

Updates:

I’m really enjoying this graphic novel format which was never a fave of mine before.

What a sweetheart ☺️

I have #2 in the series on my Kindle but I don’t have as great of a time reading on a device, I think I prefer printed books. 📚🌈

Remember to keep learning! Join the challenge next year and increase your knowledge (and/or enjoyment) by continuing to read.

https://giphy.com/gifs/readingrainbow-dance-levar-burton-reading-rainbow-3o6ozkeXSb0Cm25CzS/links

--

--

Monica S. Flores

💚 make a positive difference: 🤖 Lullabot Technical Project Manager, ✨#femalefoundersleadtheway Founder, 🏆 NTEN Faculty, ⚡Pantheon Hero, 💨 Arcadia Ambassador